Whiteshell (WHS) Magnetic Observatory

Name Whiteshell
IAGA alphabetic code WHS
IAGA numeric code 40265
Geographic coordinates 49.80° N, 264.750° E
Geomagnetic coordinates (IGRF-12 (2015)) 58.37° N, 28.38° W (2015.0)
Elevation 336 m
First year 1975 (replaced by Glenlea)
Status closed in 1982
Observatory data link

For more information about IAGA, please visit the IAGA web site.


An AMOS was installed during the period of July 14-30 1977 at the University of Manitoba laboratory in Whiteshell, 160 km east of Winnipeg. The cost of the operation of the station was shared between the University of Manitoba and the Earth Physics Branch. Although no attempt was made to maintain Whiteshell as a standard magnetic observatory, the data, other than problem periods, were routinely edited and analogue plots of the one-minute values were sent to World Data Centre A.

To avoid the expense of a non-magnetic building of the standard observatory type, the sensors for the observatory instruments were housed in individual prefabricated shelters. Two analogue recorders, one for the analogue output of AMOS and one operating from the secondary magnetometer head and the electronics panel were located in an existing building, about 30 m southeast of the sensors. Concrete piers were poured to bed-rock for the AMOS fluxgate sensor, for the portable electrical magnetometer used for the measurement of the D and I, and for the head of the secondary fluxgate magnetometer. An easily removable insulated panel served as a door to each shelter. The dimensions of the instrument shelters are as follows: 1m x 1m x 2.2m (AMOS ppm sensor); 1.2m x 1.2m x 1.2m (AMOS fluxgate sensor); 1.7m x 1.7m x 2m (D & I instrument); 0.6m x 0.6m x1m (secondary fluxgate magnetometer head). The shelters were constructed of plywood and well insulated. Aluminum nails and brass hardware were used in the construction. Separation between shelters is about 5m.

Reliable edited digital data is available for WHS from 1800 Dec. 1 1975. About 60% only of the digital data was retrieved in 1976. However the recovery rate increased to 80% following a service trip in September.

An electric heater, thermostatically controlled, was installed in the AMOS fluxgate-sensor shelter.

Whiteshell was the anchor station for the Churchill I.M.S. line of variation stations. Absolute observations in D and I were taken once or twice a months to calibrate the AMOS values. Instruments and building check were made twice a month on average.

Observatoire magnétique Whiteshell (WHS)

Nom Whiteshell
Code alphabétique AIGA WHS
Code numérique AIGA 40265
Coordonnées géographiques 49.80° N, 264.750° E
Coordonnées géomagnétiques (IGRF-12 (2015)) 58.37° N, 28.38° O (2015.0)
Altitude 336 m
Année d'inauguration 1975 (remplacé par Glenlea)
Status fermé en 1982
Données de l'observatoire liens

Pour plus d'information sur le code AIGA, s'il-vous-plaît visiter le site web de AIGA.


Une station AMOS était installée, durant la période du 14 au 30 juillet 1977, au laboratoire de l’Université du Manitoba situé à Whiteshell, à 160 km à l’est de Winnipeg. Les coûts de fonctionnement de la station étaient répartis entre l’Université et la Direction de la physique du globe. Bien que l’on ne prévoyait pas faire de Whiteshell un observatoire magnétique standard, les données, autres que pour les périodes incertaines, ont été éditées de façon routinière et les tracés analogiques des valeurs enregistrées à chaque minute ont été envoyés au WDC A.

Pour éviter les frais d'un bâtiment non-magnétique standard pour un observatoire, les capteurs des instruments ont été hébergés individuellement dans des abris préfabriqués. Deux enregistreurs analogiques, un pour la sortie analogique du AMOS et un opérant la tête du magnétomètre secondaire ainsi que son panneau électronique étaient situés dans un bâtiment existant, à environ 30 m au sud-est des capteurs. Des piliers de béton ont été coulés comme fondation pour le capteur à vanne de flux AMOS, pour le magnétomètre électrique portatif utilisé pour la mesure de D et I, et pour la tête de magnétomètre secondaire à vanne de flux. Un panneau isolé et facilement amovible servait de porte pour chaque abris. Les dimensions des abris des instruments étaient les suivantes: 1m x 1m x 2,2 m (capteur AMOS ppm); 1,2 m x 1,2 m x 1,2 m (capteur à vanne de fluxe AMOS); 1,7 x 1,7 m x 2m (instrument de D & I); 0,6 m x 0,6 m x 1m (tête du magnétomètre secondaire à vanne de flux). Les abris ont été construits en contreplaqué et bien isolée. Des clous en aluminium et ferrures en laiton ont été utilisés pour la construction. La séparation entre les abris est d'environ 5m.

Les données numériques modifiées fiables sont disponibles pour WHS à partir de 1800 le 1 décembre 1975. Environ 60% des données numériques ont été récupérées en 1976. Cependant, le taux de récupération est passé à 80% après une visite de service en Septembre.

Un chauffage électrique, contrôlé par thermostat, a été installé dans l'abri du capteur à vanne de fluxe AMOS.

La station Whiteshell est la dernière station de la ligne de stations de variation Churchill de l’EMI. Les observations absolues en D et I étaient prises une ou deux fois par mois afin de calibrer les valeurs AMOS. Les vérifications de l’édifice et des instruments étaient effectuées deux fois par mois en moyenne.