Mould Bay (MBC) Magnetic Observatory

Name Mould Bay
IAGA alphabetic code MBC
IAGA numeric code 014241
Geographic coordinates 76.315° N, 240.638° E
Geomagnetic coordinates (IGRF-12 (2015)) 80.01° N, 90.86° W (2015.0)
Elevation 40 m
First year 1961
Status closed in 1997
Observatory data link

For more information about IAGA, please visit the IAGA web site.


In the summer of 1961 the then Division of Geomagnetism of the Dominion Observatory (now the Geomagnetism Program of the Geological Survey of Canada) established a combined magnetic and seismic observatory in the vicinity of the Joint Arctic Weather Station, Mould Bay, Prince Patrick Island, N.W.T. (76.2 N.,119.4 W). The observatory at that time served principally as a control station for magnetic and seismic surveys mounted by the Polar Continental Shelf Project and the Dominion Observatory.

An insulated wooden building of non-magnetic construction, 8 metres by 5 metres in size, and resting on a gravel pad, serves as the magnetic observatory building. This building is situated with its long axis approximately geographic east-west and is connected by a 7 meter corridor to the seismic observatory. The magnetic components of the instruments and power distribution facilities are located at the end of the corridor remote from the magnetic observatory. A light-tight room, 4 metres by 3 metres, is partitioned off in the magnetic observatory to accommodate a set of the photographic variometers used in the early years of the observatory. The variometers and absolute instrument are mounted on concrete piers set into the permafrost. Care was taken to ensure that the piers were decoupled from the wooden floor.

The building is electrically heated by thermostatically controlled glass heating panels, capable of maintaining the temperature constant within 2 °C under normal conditions.

A three-component photographic variometer recorded the changes in the geomagnetic field. Instability in the Z variometer and suspicion of the damping effect of the hitherto undiscovered magnetic anomaly precluded continuous recording until July, 1962. Hour marks on the photographic records were provided by a Mercer chronometer.

Since late 1975, a digital recorder has been in operation in the Mould Bay Magnetic Observatory as a digital standby magnetometer. The introduction of telephone service for rapid communication to the technical services in Ottawa made the installation of an EPB AMOS MK III a logical up- grading of the Observatory. The changeover took place in July, 1985.

The combined Mould Bay Geomagnetic and Seismic Observatory had been staffed by personnel from the Geological Survey of Canada. With the introduction of the AMOS equipment, daily attendance to the Magnetic Observatory was no longer necessary. Changes within the Seismic program also resulted in less of a demand on daily personal attendance. These workload reductions resulted in the transfer of the actual data reduction to Ottawa and the Observatory operation being done by Atmospheric and Environmental Service (AES) personnel. AES has operated the Mould Bay Observatory since May, 1989.

In early 1997, the decision was made by Atmospheric and Environmental Services of the Government of Canada to close the Mould Bay weather station. In effect, there would be no staff left on the station. Therefore, the Geomagnetic and Seismology programs of the Mould Bay Geophysical Observatory were terminated in June, 1997.

Observatoire magnétique Mould Bay (MBC)

Nom Mould Bay
Code alphabétique AIGA MBC
Code numérique AIGA 014241
Coordonnées géographiques 76.315° N, 240.638° E
Coordonnées géomagnétiques (IGRF-12 (2015)) 80.01° N, 90.86° O (2015.0)
Altitude 40 m
Année d'inauguration 1961
Status fermé en 1997
Données de l'observatoire liens

Pour plus d'information sur le code AIGA, s'il-vous-plaît visiter le site web de AIGA.


Au cours de l'été 1961, la Division du géomagnétisme de l'Observatoire fédéral (aujourd'hui le Programme de géomagnétisme de la Commission géologique du Canada) a établi un observatoire « magnético-sismique » à proximité de la station météorologique mixte de l'Arctique de Mould Bay, dans l'île Prince-Patrick (T.N.-O.) [76,2°N., 119,4° O.]. à l'époque, l'Observatoire servait principalement de station de contrôle des relevés magnétiques et sismiques organisés par l'Étude du plateau continental polaire et l'Observatoire fédéral.

L'Observatoire magnétique est une construction de bois, isolée, sans matériaux magnétiques, de 8 m sur 5, reposant sur une couche de gravier. Son axe longitudinal correspond approximativement à l'axe géographique est-ouest. L'Observatoire est relié à l'Observatoire sismique par un corridor de 7 m de longueur. Les pièces magnétiques des appareils et les sources d'électricité sont situées à l'extrémité distale du corridor par rapport à l'Observatoire magnétique. Une pièce étanche à la lumière, de 4 m sur 3, est aménagée derrière une cloison à l'intérieur de l'Observatoire. Elle abrite l'ensemble des variomètres photographiques qui ont servi au cours des premières années d'existence de l'Observatoire. Les variomètres et l'appareil absolu sont montés sur des piliers de béton fichés dans le pergélisol. On a veillé à désolidariser ces piliers du plancher de bois.

Le bâtiment est chauffé électriquement au moyen de panneaux chauffants de verre thermostatés, capables de maintenir la température constante à 2 °C près, dans les conditions normales.

Un variomètre photographique à trois composantes enregistrait les variations du champ géomagnétique. L'instabilité du variomètre Z et des soupçons de l'effet d'amortissement de l'anomalie magnétique non encore élucidé à l'époque ont empêché que l'on fasse des enregistrements continus jusqu'en juillet 1962. Les marques des heures sur les enregistrements photographiques étaient fournies par un chronomètre Mercer.

Depuis la fin de 1975, l'Observatoire est doté d'un enregistreur numérique qui sert de magnétomètre numérique de secours. L'avènement du service téléphonique pour la transmission rapide des données aux services techniques d'Ottawa a fait de l'installation d'un système AMOS MK III de la Direction de la physique du globe la suite logique de la modernisation de l'Observatoire. Le remplacement s'est fait en juillet 1985.

L'Observatoire mixte avait été pourvu de personnel de la Commission géologique du Canada d'aujourd'hui. Avec le nouvel équipement AMOS, une présence journalière n'était plus nécessaire à l'Observatoire magnétique. L'évolution du programme sismologique a également entraîné une baisse de la demande de la surveillance journalière. Ces compressions de la charge de travail ont entraîné le transfert de la réduction des données, actuellement effectuée à Ottawa, tandis que le fonctionnement de l'Observatoire était assuré par le personnel du Service de l'environnement atmosphérique à compter de mai 1989.

Début 1997, les services fédéraux de l'environnement atmosphérique ont décidé de fermer la station météorologique de Mould Bay. Comme il n'y aurait plus de surveillance de la station, on a mis fin, en juin 1997, aux programmes géomagnétiques et sismologiques de l'Observatoire géophysique.