Iqaluit (IQA) Magnetic Observatory

Iqaluit magnetic observatory photo
Name Iqaluit
IAGA alphabetic code IQA
IAGA numeric code 026291
Geographic coordinates 63.753° N, 291.482° E
Geomagnetic coordinates (IGRF-12 (2015)) 73.25° N, 6.34° E (2015.0)
Elevation 67 m
First year 1995
Observatory data link

For more information about IAGA, please visit the IAGA web site.


Consideration was given to building a magnetic observatory in Iqaluit in the middle of 1988. However, it was not until August, 1990 that discussions were held with officials from Arctic College, Nunatta Campus, as to establishing an observatory as a joint project. In preparation for the construction, the Municipality of Iqaluit granted in December, 1990, rights to a parcel of land to the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) for recording the variations in the geomagnetic field. Towards the end of March, 1994 a formal Memorandum of Understanding was signed by the GSC and the Arctic College towards the establishment of a magnetic observatory in Iqaluit. The Understanding committed the GSC to bear the cost of the material and the Arctic College to providing the labour for the construction.

The site chosen for the new observatory is on the side of a hill, 1.4 km to the north from the centre of Iqaluit and 400 m to north of the Arctic College. The area has significant exposures of Archaean gneiss. Unfortunately, a preliminary Total Force survey of the site showed that F variations could be as high as 1400 nT over 30 m. This amount of magnetic relief is prevalent in Iqaluit.

The apprentice carpenters from the Arctic College completed the construction of an Absolute Building ( 4.8 m by 2.4 m by 2.4 m), the Service Building ( 4.8 m by 3.6 m by 2.4 m) and the various sensor shelters during the summer of 1994. The two buildings and the sensor shelters are scattered over the site in the same fashion as that for other Canadian observatories such as Yellowknife. The Observatory was furnished with an INTERMAGNET compliant CANMOS in October, 1994. However, various instrumental and operational difficulties precluded the routine collection of data until January, 1995.

During 1995 it became apparent that problems existed within the data as the difference between the calculated F from the fluxgate and the measured F from the total force magnetometer varied. This was especially noticeable during periods of magnetic disturbances. The problem persisted even though the various magnetometers were replaced during 1995. A re-examination of the earlier F survey showed that the F sensor and the 3-component fluxgate sensor were situated on either side of a substantial F anomaly. It was therefore decided to move the sensors to an area of lower magnetic relief. This was done in August, 1996 and resulted in a substantial reduction in the problem.

CANMOS (Canadian Magnetic Observatory System) has been designed by the Geomagnetic Monitoring Service staff, who have developed the software to control the magnetometers and to process the basic digital data. CANMOS includes:

  • a commercial tri-axial ringcore fluxgate magnetometer, mounted on a tilt-correcting suspension (of GSC design)
  • an Overhauser Proton Precession Magnetometer
  • a bus-clock for timing control
  • various storage media
  • RS-232 outputs for 1 second, 5 second and 1 minute data streams

Observatoire magnétique Iqaluit (IQA)

Photo de l'observatoire magnétique Iqaluit
Nom Iqaluit
Code alphabétique AIGA IQA
Code numérique AIGA 026291
Coordonnées géographiques 63.753° N, 291.482° E
Coordonnées géomagnétiques (IGRF-12 (2015)) 73.25° N, 6.34° E (2015.0)
Altitude 67 m
Année d'inauguration 1995
Données de l'observatoire liens

Pour plus d'information sur le code AIGA, s'il-vous-plaît visiter le site web de AIGA.


Au milieu de 1988, on a envisagé de construire un observatoire magnétique à Iqaluit. Ce n'est pas avant août 1990, que l'on a tenu des discussions avec les responsables du campus Nunatta du Collège de l'Arctique pour établir conjointement un observatoire. En préparation des travaux de construction, la municipalité d'Iqaluit a accordé, en décembre 1990, les droits à une parcelle de terrain à la Commission géologique du Canada pour l'enregistrement des variations du champ géomagnétique. Vers la fin de mars 1994, la CGC et le Collège signaient un protocole officiel d'entente pour l'établissement d'un observatoire magnétique à Iqaluit. En vertu du protocole, la CGC s'engageait à supporter les coûts du matériel, le Collège à fournir la main-d'oeuvre pour la construction.

Le site se trouve à flanc de colline, à 1,4 km au nord du centre d'Iqaluit et à 400 m au nord du Collège de l'Arctique. Le terrain comporte d'importants affleurements de gneiss archéen. Malheureusement, un relevé préliminaire de la force totale a montré que la variation locale de F pouvait atteindre 1 400 nT sur 30 m. Ce type de relief magnétique énergique prédomine à Iqaluit.

Les apprentis charpentiers du Collège ont terminé la construction d'un bâtiment des appareils absolus (4,8 m sur 2,4 sur 2,4), d'un bâtiment des services (4,8 m sur 3,6 sur 2,4) et des divers abris des capteurs au cours de l'été 1994. Les deux bâtiments et les abris sont disséminés sur l'emplacement, comme dans les autres observatoires canadiens tel celui de Yellowknife. En octobre 1994, l'Observatoire a été doté d'un appareil CANMOS conforme à la base de données INTERMAGNET. Cependant, divers problèmes d'instruments et problèmes opérationnels ont empêché la collecte systématique de données jusqu'en janvier 1995.

En 1995, on a constaté l'existence de problèmes de données, l'écart entre la valeur calculée de F obtenue par la sonde à saturation et la valeur mesurée de F par le magnétomètre de force totale étant variable. Cela était particulièrement visible au cours des périodes de perturbations magnétiques. Le problème a persisté en dépit du remplacement de divers magnétomètres en 1995. Un nouvel examen du relevé antérieur de F a montré que le capteur de F et le capteur à saturation à trois composantes étaient situés de part et d'autre d'une importante anomalie de F. On a donc décidé de déménager les capteurs dans une zone où le relief magnétique était plus doux. Réalisé en août 1996, le déménagement a entraîné une réduction considérable du problème.

Le CANMOS (pour Canadian Magnetic Observatory System - Système des observatoires magnétiques canadiens) a été conçu par le personnel du service de surveillance géomagnétique de la Commission géologique du Canada, qui a mis au point le logiciel de commande des magnétomètres et de traitement des données numériques de base. Il comprend notamment les composantes suivantes :

  • un magnétomètre triaxial du commerce, à saturation et à noyau annulaire, monté sur un système de suspension corrigeant l'inclinaison (conçu par la CGC)
  • un magnétomètre Overhauser à précession de protons
  • une horloge interne de synchronisation
  • divers supports d'information
  • périphériques de sortie RS-232 pour les chaînes de données d'une seconde, de cinq secondes et d'une minute