Glenlea (GLN) Magnetic Observatory

Glenlea magnetic observatory photo
Name Glenlea
IAGA alphabetic code GLN
IAGA numeric code 040263
Geographic coordinates 49.645° N, 262.880° E
Geomagnetic coordinates (IGRF-12 (2015)) 58.06° N, 30.63° W (2015.0)
Elevation 40 m
First year 1980 (replaced by Brandon)
Status closed in 2006
Observatory data link

For more information about IAGA, please visit the IAGA web site.


In early 1975, agreement was reached among the University of Manitoba, the Manitoba Department of Tourism and the Earth Physics Branch (now part of the Geological Survey of Canada) to establish a geomagnetic variation recording station at the University of Manitoba laboratory in Whiteshell. The cost of the operation was to be shared between the University of Manitoba and the Earth Physics Branch.

The site (49 deg. 48 min. North, 264 deg. 45 min. East) was within the confines of Whiteshell Provincial Park some 160 km east of Winnipeg. The area has exposed Archaean greenstone bedrock.

Although no attempt was made to maintain Whiteshell as a standard observatory, the data for other than problem periods were routinely edited and reconstituted magnetograms of the digital data were routinely sent to World Data Centre A.

To avoid the expense of a non-magnetic building of the standard observatory type (e.g. Cambridge Bay), the sensors for the observatory instruments were housed in individual prefabricated shelters. Electronic consoles and auxiliary equipments were housed in an existing building some 30 m southeast of the sensors. Concrete piers for the sensors and the D & I theodolite were poured onto bedrock. The dimensions of the shelters were as follows:

  • primary (AMOS) fluxgate shelter; 1.2 m by 1.2 m by 1.2 m
  • secondary fluxgate sensor shelter; 0.6 m by 0.6 m by 0.6 m
  • D & I theodolite shelter; 1.7 m by 1.7 m by 2 m

The shelters were constructed of plywood and well insulated. Aluminium nails and brass hardware were used in the construction. Separation between the shelters was about 5 m.

As the cost of a monolithic observatory building became too great in an era of shrinking governmental budgets, this prototype for a geomagnetic observatory became the template for the Canadian Magnetic Observatory Network whenever a new observatory was to be established.

In early 1979, the time required for regular service trips to Whiteshell, by a qualified person from the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, became to great a burden. Accordingly discussions were begun for a move of the Whiteshell instruments to a site closer to the University of Manitoba campus. Agreement was reached in May, 1980 and construction of instrument shelters, etc. at Glenlea according to the Whiteshell paradigm was completed in August of the same year.

A site within the confines of the U. of M.'s experimental farm, some 30 km south of the campus, was selected. The site is established on gently rising land about 70 m from the Red River. The bedrock is overlain to a depth of 20 m by Upper Ordovician sediments, a legacy of Lake Agassiz, formed after the last North American ice age.

Glenlea Observatory is an assembly of a trailer for the electronic consoles and auxiliary equipment, a scattering of shelters to house the various sensors and a shelter for the D & I theodolite. The shelters were fabricated of plywood, insulated and put together with non-magnetic hardware. Piers are sunk 4 m into the sed- iments. The sensor and D & I theodolite enclosures are separated by 7 m from each other and 60 m from the instrument trailer. The complex is serviced by underground ducts in which are the power and signal cables. Whiteshell was replaced by Glenlea on 26 September, 1980.

Digital recordings of the geomagnetic field were begun in in mid-July, 1975 with the installation of the Earth Physics Branch's AMOS Mk I in Whiteshell. The recordings continued in Glenlea until the aging AMOS Mk I was replaced by the AMOS Mk III towards the end of November, 1981. In turn, the AMOS Mk III was replaced by the INTERMAGNET compliant CANMOS in the beginning of June, 1991.

Three climatological disasters have struck the Glenlea Geophysical Observatory. In the summer of 1995, the trailer in which housed the accessory electronic equipment was rolled over by tornado-like winds. In May, 1996 the recording sensors were inundated by the flood waters of the nearby Red River. The flooding was repeated in May, 1997. Therefore, during the summer of 1997, a decision was made to stop the making of absolute D & I observations until the Glenlea Geomagnetic Observatory is moved to a more suitable location. Consequently, Glenlea Geomagnetic Observatory ceased to exist in May, 1997. The Glenlea geomagnetic variation station was relocated to Brandon Geophysical Observatory in 2007.

CANMOS (Canadian Magnetic Observatory System) has been designed by the Geomagnetic Monitoring Service staff, who have developed the software to control the magnetometers and to process the basic digital data. CANMOS includes:

  • a commercial tri-axial ringcore fluxgate magnetometer, mounted on a tilt-correcting suspension (of GSC design)
  • an Overhauser Proton Precession Magnetometer
  • a bus-clock for timing control
  • various storage media
  • RS-232 outputs for 1 second, 5 second and 1 minute data streams

The AMOS MK I and III were instruments designed and manufactured by the then Dominion Observatory and Earth Physics Branch. These instruments differ significantly from a commercial version which was also named AMOS.

Observatoire magnétique Glenlea (GLN)

Photo de l'observatoire magnétique Glenlea
Nom Glenlea
Code alphabétique AIGA GLN
Code numérique AIGA 040263
Coordonnées géographiques 49.645° N, 262.880° E
Coordonnées géomagnétiques (IGRF-12 (2015)) 58.06° N, 30.63° O (2015.0)
Altitude 40 m
Année d'inauguration 1980 (remplacé par Brandon)
Status fermé en 2006
Données de l'observatoire liens

Pour plus d'information sur le code AIGA, s'il-vous-plaît visiter le site web de AIGA.


Au début de 1975, l'Université du Manitoba, le ministère du Tourisme du Manitoba et la Direction de la physique du globe (qui fait aujourd'hui partie de la Commission géologique du Canada) se sont entendus pour établir une station d'enregistrement des variations géomagnétiques au laboratoire de l'Université du Manitoba à Whiteshell. Le coût de l'opération devait être partagé entre l'Université et la Direction.

L'emplacement (par 49° 48' N. et 264° 45' E.) se trouvait dans les limites du parc provincial Whiteshell, à quelque 160 km à l'est de Winnipeg. La roche en place, exposée, y était constituée de roche verte archéenne.

Même si l'on n'a pas tenté de maintenir Whiteshell au niveau d'un observatoire standard, les données correspondant aux périodes ne faisant pas problème étaient systématiquement corrigées, et les magnétogrammes reconstitués des données numériques étaient automatiquement envoyées au Centre A de données mondiales.

Pour éviter les coûts de construction d'un immeuble non magnétique du type d'observatoire standard (p. ex. Cambridge Bay), les capteurs des appareils étaient logés dans des abris individuels préfabriqués. Les consoles électroniques et l'équipement auxiliaire étaient logés dans un immeuble préexistant à quelque 30 m au sud-est des capteurs. On a coulé dans la roche mère des piles de béton pour les capteurs et le théodolite de déclinaison et d'inclinaison. Les dimensions des abris étaient comme suit :

  • abri du capteur à saturation primaire (AMOS) : 1,2 m sur 1,2 sur 1,2
  • abri du capteur à saturation secondaire : 0,6 m sur 0,6 sur 0,6
  • abri du théodolite de déclinaison et d'inclinaison : 1,7 m sur 1,7 sur 2

Les abris, de contreplaqué, étaient bien isolés. On a utilisé pour leur construction des clous d'aluminium et de la quincaillerie de laiton. Les abris étaient éloignés les uns des autres d'environ 5 m.

Comme le coût d'un observatoire monolithique devenait excessif en période de compressions budgétaires de l'État, ce prototype d'observatoire géomagnétique est devenu le modèle à suivre pour le Réseau canadien d'observatoires magnétiques chaque fois qu'il était question d'expansion.

Au début de 1979, le temps des déplacements pour l'entretien régulier de Whiteshell, par un technicien qualifié de l'Université du Manitoba à Winnipeg, est devenu excessif. On a donc entamé des discussions pour rapprocher les instruments du campus de l'Université. En mai 1980, on concluait une entente à cette fin et on entreprenait, en août de la même année la construction d'abris pour les instruments, etc., à Glenlea, d'après le modèle établi à Whiteshell.

On a choisi un emplacement dans les limites de la ferme expérimentale de l'Université, à quelque 30 km au sud du campus, sur un terrain qui s'élevait doucement, à environ 70 m de la rivière Rouge. Là, la roche mère est recouverte de 20 m de sédiments de l'ordovicien supérieur, vestiges du lac Agassiz formé après le dernier âge glaciaire nord-américain.

L'Observatoire de Glenlea est constitué d'une remorque abritant les consoles électroniques et l'équipement auxiliaire, d'abris dispersés pour les divers capteurs et d'un abri pour le théodolite de déclinaison et d'inclinaison. Les abris sont de contreplaqué, isolés et montés avec du matériel non magnétique. Les piliers sont enfoncés de 4 m dans les sédiments. Les enceintes des capteurs et du théodolite se trouvent à 7 m les unes des autres et elles sont toutes éloignées de 60 m de la remorque. Les câbles d'alimentation et de transmission des signaux sont enfouis. Glenlea a remplacé Whiteshell le 26 septembre 1980.

à la mi-juillet 1975 a débuté l'enregistrement numérique du champ géomagnétique, avec l'installation de l'instrument AMOS MK I de la Direction de la physique du globe. Devenant désuet, cet instrument a fait place, vers la fin novembre 1981, à l'appareil AMOS MK III, qu'a remplacé à son tour, au début de juin 1991, le CANMOS, conforme à INTERMAGNET.

Trois désastres d'origine climatologique ont frappé Glenlea. à l'été 1995, la remorque qui abritait l'équipement électronique auxiliaire était renversée par des vents de la force d'une tornade. En mai 1996, les capteurs étaient submergés par les eaux de la Rouge. En mai 1997, l'inondation se répétait. C'est pourquoi, au cours de l'été 1997, on a décidé de mettre un terme aux observations de la déclinaison et de l'inclinaison absolues tant que l'Observatoire n'occuperait pas un endroit convenable. C'est pourquoi l'Observatoire a cessé d'exister en mai 1997. La station de mesures des variations géomagnétiques de Glenlea a été déménagée à l'observatoire géophysique de Brandon en 2007.

Le CANMOS (pour Canadian Magnetic Observatory System - Système des observatoires magnétiques canadiens) a été conçu par le personnel du service de surveillance géomagnétique de la Commission géologique du Canada, qui a mis au point le logiciel de commande des magnétomètres et de traitement des données numériques de base. Il comprend notamment les composantes suivantes :

  • un magnétomètre triaxial du commerce, à saturation et à noyau annulaire, monté sur un système de suspension corrigeant l'inclinaison (conçu par la CGC)
  • un magnétomètre Overhauser à précession de protons
  • une horloge interne de synchronisation
  • divers supports d'information
  • périphériques de sortie RS-232 pour les chaînes de données d'une seconde, de cinq secondes et d'une minute

Les AMOS MK I et III étaient des instruments conçus et fabriqués par l'Observatoire fédéral et la Direction de la physique du globe. Ils diffèrent considérablement d'une version du commerce également nommée AMOS.