Generation of the Earth's magnetic field - In depth

To completely describe how the geomagnetic field is generated it is necessary to solve simultaneous equations describing the electromagnetic and thermal conditions in the Earth's core. Merrill et al (1998) list ten such equations. These include Maxwell's equations which describe the interaction between magnetic fields and electric currents, the Navier-Stokes equation which describes the fluid motion in the outer core, and equations describing the gravity potential, the heat flow, and many other parameters. Each equation is, in turn, dependent on the boundary conditions and the initial conductions chosen. These are often poorly known.

A good deal of physical insight is gained by examining the magnetic induction equation.

B t = x ( v x B ) + 1 σ μ 2 B

B is the magnetic field vector, v is a velocity vector, t is time, F is the conductivity and μ is the magnetic permeability (equal to μ0) in this case.

The first term on the right-hand side represents the interaction between the magnetic field and a moving conductor, which causes build-up (or breakdown) of the magnetic field. The second term on the right-hand side is the diffusion term.

If the velocity is zero, the first term on the right-hand-side disappears. The remaining terms tell us that in the absence of a moving conductor the magnetic field will die away exponentially. The time constant is about 15,000 years.

We can set the second term equal to zero by assuming that the fluid is a perfect conductor (σ = ∞). Under these conditions, magnetic field lines become "frozen" into the conducting fluid, always moving with it. This behaviour of the field lines is important in explaining the mechanism by which the magnetic field is generated.

Two other concepts must be described at this point: poloidal fields and toroidal fields. A poloidal field is one which has a radial component. This is the type of field with which we are all familiar since dipole fields are poloidal. A toroidal field, on the other hand, is ring or donut shaped, with no radial component. In the Earth, toroidal fields are confined to the core and are not detectible at the Earth's surface. Nevertheless they play an important role in the production of the magnetic field.

Poloidal field (left) and toroidal field (right)

Poloidal field (left) and toroidal field (right)

Suppose that the core rotates with an angular velocity that depends on its radius. Consider what will happen to a poloidal field whose field lines are "frozen in" so that they move along with the fluid. If the fluid is moving more slowly in the upper part of the outer core, those field lines will be left behind compared to field lines closer to the centre. Eventually, after a complete circuit, two toroidal loops will be formed, as shown in the diagram. This is called the ω-effect - a mechanism by which poloidal fields are converted to toroidal fields.

ω-effect

ω-effect

Now consider a field line from a toroidal field, frozen into a rising convective cell. The field line will be pulled along with the cell. Since the Earth is rotating, the Coriolis force will cause the upwelling fluid to rotate counterclockwise (in the northern hemisphere). The field line will be twisted along with the fluid, and after a quarter turn, a poloidal magnetic loop is produced. This process is called the α-effect - a mechanism by which toroidal fields are converted to poloidal fields. The poloidal loops can merge to produce a large poloidal field.

α-effect

α-effect

Various methods have been proposed by which the α-effect and the ω-effect can generate the Earth's magnetic field. These go by the acronyms αω, α2, α2ω. In the αω dynamo, the motion of the fluid, associated with differential rotation of the outer core, through the poloidal field lines give rise to a toroidal field in the outer core. The twisting of toroidal field lines frozen in upwelling fluid, gives rise, in turn, to poloidal fields which can reinforce the original poloidal field.

To maintain a steady-state magnetic field ( B t = 0 ) the rate at which the field is generated by the αω-effect must equal the rate of diffusion. If they are not equal, the field will either grow or decay, which is probably the normal situation.

Origine du champ magnétique terrestre - plus de détails

Pour décrire exhaustivement la cause du champ magnétique terrestre, on doit résoudre des équations simultanées qui décrivent les conditions électromagnétiques et thermiques dans le noyau de la Terre. Dans Merrill et al. (1998), on énumère dix de ces équations : les équations de Maxwell qui décrivent les interactions entre les champs magnétiques et les courants électriques, l'équation de Navier-Stokes qui décrit le mouvement du liquide dans le noyau externe et les équations qui décrivent le potentiel gravitationnel, le flux thermique et plusieurs autres paramètres. à son tour, chaque équation dépend de conditions aux limites et des valeurs initiales attribuées à la conduction qui, souvent, sont mal connues.

On peut avoir une bonne compréhension de la physique du phénomène en considérant l'équation de l'induction magnétique :

B t = x ( v x B ) + 1 σ μ 2 B

B est le vecteur champ magnétique, v le vecteur vitesse, t le temps, F la conductivité et μ la perméabilité magnétique, égale à μ0 dans ce cas.

Le premier terme du côté droit correspond à l'interaction entre le champ magnétique et un conducteur en mouvement, ce qui cause l'accroissement ou la diminution du champ magnétique. Le second terme du côté droit représente la diffusion.

Si la vitesse est nulle, le premier terme du côté droit disparaît. Le terme restant implique qu'en l'absence d'un conducteur en mouvement, le champ magnétique s'estomperait exponentiellement, sur une période d'environ 15 000 ans.

Si l'on suppose que le liquide est un conducteur parfait, et donc le deuxième terme est égal à zéro (σ = ∞). Dans ces conditions, les lignes de champ magnétique sont "gelées" dans le liquide conducteur et se déplacent de concert. Le comportement de ces lignes de champ est important pour comprendre le mécanisme par lequel le champ magnétique est généré.

On doit introduire ici deux concepts : les champs poloïdaux et les champs toroïdaux. Un champ poloïdal (ou transversal) possède une composante radiale. Nous connaissons ce type de champ : les champs dipolaires sont poloïdaux. Par ailleurs, les champs toroïdaux sont en forme de tore ou d'anneau et ne possèdent pas de composante radiale. Dans la Terre, les champs toroïdaux sont confinés au noyau et on ne peut les détecter à la surface. Ils jouent néanmoins un rôle important dans la production du champ géomagnétique.

Champs poloïdaux (gauche) et champs toroïdaux (droit)

Champs poloïdaux (gauche) et champs toroïdaux (droit)

Supposons que le noyau tourne avec une vitesse angulaire qui dépend de son rayon. Considérons ce qui arrivera à un champ poloïdal dont les lignes de champ sont "gelées" et qui se déplacent donc avec le liquide. Si le liquide se déplace plus lentement dans la partie supérieure du noyau externe, les lignes retarderont par rapport aux lignes plus proches du centre. Après un tour complet, deux boucles toroïdales seront formées, comme le montre le diagramme. C'est ce que l'on appelle l'effet ω, le mécanisme par lequel un champ poloïdal se transforme en un champ toroïdal.

effet ω

effet ω

Considérons ensuite une ligne d'un champ toroïdal gelé dans une cellule convective ascendante. Les lignes du champ seront tirées par la cellule. La force de Coriolis, qui est une conséquence de la rotation de la Terre, pousse le liquide ascendant à tourner dans le sens inverse des aiguilles d'une montre (dans l'hémisphère Nord). Les lignes de champ seront courbées dans le liquide et, après un quart de tour, on obtiendra une boucle magnétique poloïdale. On appelle ce processus l'effet α, un mécanisme par lequel un champ toroïdal se transforme en champ poloïdal. Les boucles poloïdales peuvent se fondre et produire un champ poloïdal étendu.

effet α

effet α

Pour expliquer comment les effets α et ω peuvent produire le champ géomagnétique, on a proposé plusieurs mécanismes nommés αω, α2 et α2ω. Dans la dynamo αω, la circulation du fluide à travers les lignes du champ poloïdal, un mouvement lié à la rotation différentielle du noyau externe, entraîne la formation d'un champ toroïdal dans le noyau externe. La torsion des lignes du champ toroïdal gelées dans le liquide ascendant crée, à son tour, des champs poloïdaux qui renforcent le champ poloïdal original.

Pour que le champ magnétique demeure continu, en d'autres termes pour que ( B t = 0 ), le taux de génération du champ par le mécanisme αω doit être égal au taux de sa diffusion. Si la génération du champ n'est pas égale à la diffusion, le champ s'accroîtra ou diminuera, ce qui est probablement la situation normale.