La Cour Variometer

La Cour Variometer (description below)
  • Manufacturer: Anderson & Sørensen, København
  • Serial Number: No. 20

Background & Usage

Photographic recording of magnetic field variations was first introduced in 1847 at the Royal Observatory in Greenwich, England. The Toronto Magnetic Observatory was equipped with photographic recorders in the 1850s.

On display is a declination variometer used with the recording system developed by D. La Cour of the Danish Meteorological Institute circa 1930. The variometer consists of a magnet and mirror assembly suspended by a fibre, free to turn as the magnetic field changes. A light is shone onto the mirror, and the reflected light is recorded as a narrow trace on photosensitive paper mounted on a revolving drum.

Meanook Observatory in Alberta was equipped with a La Cour system in 1933; Agincourt Observatory near Toronto was so equipped two years later. The photograph shows the complete La Cour recording system that was in place in Baker Lake Observatory, NWT, from the early 1950s to 1967.

Variomètre la Cour

Variomètre la Cour (description ci-dessous)
  • Fabricant: Anderson & Sørensen, København
  • Numéro de série: No. 20

Historique et utilisation

On a eu recours la première fois à l'enregistrement photographique des variations du champ magnétique en 1847 au Royal Observatory de Greenwich (Angleterre). L'Observatoire magnétique de Toronto a été équipé d'enregistreurs photographiques dans la décennie 1850.

Le variomètre de déclinaison du système d'enregistrement en montre ici a été mis au point par D. La Cour de l'Institut météorologique danois vers 1930. Le variomètre comporte un dispositif à aimant et miroir suspendu par une fibre, libre de tourner en fonction des variations du champ magnétique. Un faisceau lumineux, réfléchi par le miroir, est enregistré sous forme d'un tracé étroit sur une bande de papier photosensible fixée sur un tambour tournant.

L'Observatoire de Meanook en Alberta a été doté d'un système La Cour en 1933; deux ans plus tard, ce fut le tour de l'Observatoire d'Agincourt situé près de Toronto. Sur la photographie, on voit l'ensemble du système d'enregistrement La Cour qui a été utilisé à l'Observatoire de Baker Lake (T.N.-O.) du début des années 50 à 1967.