Airborne Magnetometer - Phase I

Airborne Magnetometer - Phase I (description below)

Background & Usage

The development of a three-component airborne magnetometer system in Canada began in 1946 as a project sponsored by the Subcommittee on Navigation of the Associate Committee on Aeronautical Research of the National Research Council of Canada. Several organizations were involved in the project, including the Dominion Observatory, the Department of Defence, and the University of Toronto. The first prototype system was flown in 1950.

The unit on display here was designed by P.H. Serson, S.Z. Mack and K. Whitham and was built at the Dominion Observatory between 1951 and 1955. The first experimental flights took place in 1953 with the magnetometer installed onboard a RCAF Northstar. In 1955, the instrument was used to carry out a systematic magnetic survey of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. Six additional surveys were flown between 1957 and 1963; all of Canada was covered, and the survey of 1958 circumnavigated the Pacific Rim. All these surveys were carried out with the instrument installed on civilian aircraft.

Most of the components used in the construction of the instrument were manufactured by staff of the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys. For example, the yoke, pipe, gimbals and slip-rings (which contain pure silver) were cast at the Mines Branch. These and most other components were machined by Ernie Saunders and Chris Christensen in the Dominion Observatory’s own machine shop.

The magnetometer platform consists of two parts. The assembly on the right is a stabilizer system that keeps the platform horizontal, independent of the rolling and pitching of the aircraft, and furnishes a reference direction of known azimuth. This was accomplished through a series of servo-motors, gyroscopes and accelerometers. The assembly on the left is the magnetic field detector, consisting of three orthogonal coils, one measuring the field along the axis of the pipe, and the third measuring the field at right angles to the other two. Each sensor was operating by maintaining it at zero field by the application of an electric current flowing in a solenoid around it. The current is therefore proportional to the magnetic field component along the axis of the sensor.

Both the stabilizer platform and the magnetometer sensor required complex electronic control systems. These no longer exist, but are shown in the accompanying photo.

Airborne Magnetometer - Phase I

These are the controls for the magnetometer. During a survey, they would be set up within the survey plane to operate and monitor the magnetometer.

Magnétomètre Aéroporté - Phase I

Magnétomètre Aéroporté - Phase I (description ci-dessous)

Historique et utilisation

Le développement d'un système magnétométrique aéroporté à trois composantes a débuté au Canada en 1946 dans le cadre d'un projet commandé par le sous-comité sur la navigation du comité associé sur la recherche aéronautique du Conseil national de recherches du Canada. Plusieurs organismes participaient au projet, notamment l'Observatoire fédéral, le ministère de la Défense et l'Université de Toronto. Le premier système prototype a été mis à l'essai en 1950.

L'unité en montre ici a été conçue par P.H. Serson, S.Z. Mack et K. Whitham et a été assemblée à l'Observatoire fédéral entre 1951 et 1955. Les premiers vols expérimentaux ont été effectués en 1953, le magnétomètre installé à bord d'un Northstar de l'ARC. En 1955, l'instrument a été utilisé pour effectuer un levé magnétique systématique du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta. Six levés additionnels ont été réalisés entre 1957 et 1963; l'ensemble du Canada a été balayé, et le levé de 1958 a balayé la zone des pays riverains du Pacifique. Pour tous ces levés, l'instrument était installé à bord d'un aéronef civil.

La plupart des composantes de l'instrument ont été fabriquées par des employés du ministère des Mines et des Relevés techniques. Par exemple, la bobine de déviation, les tubes, les cadres et les bagues collectrices (qui contiennent de l'argent pur) ont été coulés à la Direction générale des mines. Ces pièces et la plupart des autres pièces ont été usinées par Ernie Saunders et Chris Christensen dans l'atelier d'usinage de l'Observatoire fédéral.

La plateforme du magnétomètre comporte deux parties. Le montage de droite est un dispositif stabilisateur qui maintient la plate-forme horizontale, en dépit des mouvements de roulis et d'inclinaison longitudinale de l'aéronef et donne une direction de référence d'azimut connu. Le montage est lié à une série de moteurs d'asservissement, de gyroscopes et d'accéléromètres. Le montage de gauche est un détecteur de champ magnétique qui comporte trois bobines orthogonales; l'une d'elles mesure le champ le long de l'axe du tube, et la troisième mesure le champ aux angles droits formés avec les deux autres bobines. Chaque capteur maintient un champ nul en faisant circuler un courant électrique dans le solénoïde qui l'entoure. Le courant est donc proportionnel à la composante du champ magnétique parallèle à l'axe du capteur.

Magnétomètre Aéroporté - Phase I

Ce sont les commandes pour le magnétomètre. Durant une enquête, ils seraient mis en place dans l'avion d'enquête pour fonctionner et surveiller le magnétomètre.