Information about K-Indices

K-indices of Magnetic Activity at Canadian Magnetic Observatories

The K-indices are computed by the Canadian Geomagnetism Program for only three Canadian observatories. Ottawa and Meanook provide K-values to the planetary Kp index. Victoria provides K-values for incorporation into other planetary indices.

The K-indices are computed automatically using the Polish algorithm (K. Nowozynski, T. Ernst and J. Jankowski, 1991. Adaptive smoothing method for computer derivation of K-indices. Geophysical Journal International, v. 104, p.85-93), one of the IAGA approved methods for computer-derivation of K-indices. The computations are carried out daily, for each Universal Time day, using data from the last 6 hours of the previous day, 24 hours of the actual day, and the first 6 hours of the following day. The K-values for each day are quoted for the eight 3-hour intervals: 00 - 03 UT, 03 - 06 UT, . . ., 21 - 00 UT.

The K-indices are normally verified by manual inspection twice per month prior to shipment to the Niemegk Observatory for incorporation into the Kp indices, and for archiving. These verified K-values are available in a series of monthly files. In the files, each line contains the 3-letter IAGA observatory code, year, month, day of month, and the eight K-indices for the day (with values ranging from 0 to 9). If a valid K-value is not available, -1 is used.

K-indices for intervals more recent than the last shipment to Niemegk are considered to be provisional. They are available in files of slightly different format (to emphasize the PROVISIONAL nature); in these files, K-indices that are suspect, or invalid, have values greater than 900. In addition, day-of-year is used instead of month and day.

IAGA Codes for Canadian Magnetic Observatories

  • MEA, Meanook
  • OTT, Ottawa
  • VIC, Victoria

Information sur les indices K

Indices K de l'activité magnétique aux observatoires magnétiques canadiens

Les indices K sont calculés dans le cadre du Programme national de géomagnétisme pour trois des observatoires canadiens seulement. Les observatoires d'Ottawa et de Meanook fournissent les valeurs de l'indice K pour le calcul de l'indice planetaire Kp. L'observatoire de Victoria fournit les valeurs de K pour intégration à d'autres indices planetaires.

Les indices K sont calculés automatiquement au moyen de l'algorithme polonais (K. Nowozynski, T. Ernst et J. Jankowski, 1991: Adaptive smoothing method for computer derivation of K-indices; Geophysical Journal International, v. 104, p .85-93), l'une des méthodes approuvées par l'AIGA pour l'obtention par ordinateur des indices K. Les calculs sont éffectues quotidiennement pour chaque jour de temps universel, d'après les données des 6 dernières heures d'observation de la journée précédente, les 24 heures de la journée en cours et les 6 premières heures de la journée suivante. Les valeurs quotidiennes de K sont fournies pour les huit intervalles de trois heures : 00 a 03 TU, 03 a 06 TU, … 21 a 00 TU.

Les indices K sont normalement vérifiés par inspection manuelle deux fois par mois avant d'être acheminés à l'observatoire Niemegk pour intégration aux indices Kp et archivage. Ces valeurs vérifiées de l'indice K sont disponibles sous forme d'une série de fichiers mensuels. Dans ces fichiers, chaque ligne comprend le code d'observatoire de 3 lettres de l'AIGA, l'année, le mois, le jour du mois et les huit indices K du jour (dont la valeur varie de 0 a 9). Si aucune valeur de K valide n'est disponible, la valeur -1 est utilisée.

Les indices K pour des intervalles plus récents que celui du dernier envoi à l'observatoire Niemegk sont considéres provisoires. Ils sont disponibles dans des fichiers d'un format légerement différent (afin d'en souligner le caractère PROVISOIRE); dans ces fichiers, les indices K qui sont douteux, ou non valides, ont des valeurs supérieures à 900. En outre, on utilise dans ces fichiers le rang du jour dans l'année plutôt que le mois et le jour.

Codes des observatoires de l'AIGA:

  • MEA, Meanook
  • OTT, Ottawa
  • VIC, Victoria